Strawberry, Watercolor on 215gsm paper
Strawberry, Watercolor on 215gsm paper

When I was studying in school (in Singapore) during my growing up years to 12, I had Art as a lesson about once a week.

One of my most impressionable Art teacher is called ‘Mr Leong’. Later on after one year, I realised he was also my Uncle’s teacher during his time when he was in the secondary school of the same name as mine.

Mr Leong I would say uses a combination of Art Methods: 1. Laissez-Faire and 2. Assigned Topic.

Laissez-Faire

Laissez-faire art method means without interference or direction. Laissez-faire teachers give students the material, and it is up to the child to create a self-expressive work of art.

Assigned Topic

The assigned topic or student-oriented method of teaching involves the teachers as a motivator. The teacher’s job is to get their students to express themselves, develop their confidence, abilities and perception in art along with their knowledge, skill and attitudes toward art. In art history the teachers will teach chronologically starting from pre-history or thematic lessons around periods or styles.

I like both these methods he uses, just when I was younger (like at the age of 13, I didn’t like the Laissez-faire art method as I rather want to learn the skill of art from him.

So I love to see him demonstrate on a piece of art media, like the watercolor paper or him holding a pencil or a brush, demonstrating how to draw or paint something. That was in Singapore. After I’ve moved to Europe, I learned a lot using experimentation, this was because I bought my first Sony Cybershot camera. Those days, digital camera was used on a daily basis, everywhere I go. I joined a group on voluntary called Daily Photo Blogs and I started ‘Singapore Daily Photo.com’ (Read here about this project). Then I met my husband, actually quite accidentally through his photography, and then we got married and moved to Estonia.

In Tallinn, I learned to create through ceramics in the Tallinn Old Town’s Masters Courtyard.

Media Method

The media method of teaching is popular in higher levels of learning, and the lessons are created around a certain medium such as photography or ceramics. The focus is on knowledge surrounding that medium which includes various techniques, history and experimentation.

My Ceramic ‘Master’ has a certain style of his own. His name is Üllo Karro, (like ‘Yellow’) Some of his work pieces here: http://www.keraamikakoda.ee/artists-yllo.htm

And mine are here:

https://tallinnzannnie.wordpress.com/2016/08/28/sauteed-chanterelle-mushrooms-garlic-and-thyme/

https://tallinnzannnie.wordpress.com/2016/04/24/pottery-addiction/

Infact, I first know about DBAE in a 3 month programme at an orientation class at Jurong Institute. This is part of the Singaporean Education system at that time, when after 16 years old (we need to take a major exam called GCE ‘O’ Levels, and it takes a while for the exam’s results to be released. We are all placed in an allocation system to different ‘college institutions’ that are not Junior Colleges yet, but an in between. Jurong Institute (if I continue, I will have to complete the GCE ‘A’ Levels. And with A level results, you can apply entrance to the Universities.

DBAE

The goal of DBAE is to develop an understanding and appreciation for art. DBAE includes teaching theories, contexts, and the ability to create and respond to art. Course content is created around art criticism, art history, art techniques and the context the art was created in.

The Chinese lady Art teacher is a beautiful graceful lady. She has silky long hair and she’s very tall (unlike most Asian lady). During this three months, I took Art, and the Art lessons I must say is different from those in my Primary and Secondary School. That was when I met Christopher Yang.

We need to learn to respond to art.

Those days, the art studio was a very cool place.

We also have to create our portfolio, and I still remember I have a SketchPad, which I made using coal sticks to draw the outline of what I see, different posture of the ‘models’ (of our classmates who took turns to pose)

I do not think I have been through authoritarian-dictatorial method, (of course, other than watching Youtube videos of some artists.)

Authoritarian-Dictatorial

An authoritarian-dictatorial method of teaching is normally set aside for students who have a low art ability. This method of teaching dictates exactly what to do in a step-by-step manner and includes a lot of directions at every step.

On Art ‘products’, I remembered I made a paper cutting dragon (with paper and penknife), after which I made a 3D Durian (With also paper, glue, balloon, some newspapers). It was exhibited. With these art lessons, my teacher use the facilitator method.

Facilitator Method

The facilitator method of teaching involves the student and teacher having a conference to decide the direction that particular student should go. This works well with higher learning and with students who are motivated or at an advanced level. The student chooses their media, topic and how to proceed with the help of the teacher.